Kabuki

Hey everyone! I hope you enjoyed the interview. Last weekend I went to two kabuki plays, and I thought I’d share some pictures with you. I took panoramic shots of the theatres, so if you’d like a closer look at them, click on the pictures.

The Shinbashi Theatre

The show at the Shinbashi Theatre

The first play I saw was at the Shinbashi Theatre. We had great seats, right next to the hanamichi. The hanamichi is a walkway that goes through the crowd that actors often use to enter and exit. It was amazing to see all the costumes up close. This performance had scenes from a few different plays, each one in a slightly different style, so it was very entertaining.

The National Theatre

The show at the National Theatre

The second one was at the National Theatre. This one was a bit more modern, and it was one long story. The main character is a corrupt samurai trying to take over the throne. It was very exciting, with lots of crazy fight scenes.

Let me know if you have any questions about kabuki. I really know way too much about it.

Leave a Reply

